jtemplate.ru - free extensions for joomla


Marple Newtown High School is proud to sponsor Tri M Music Honor Society, Chapter 764.  

Tri-M Music Honor Society, formerly known as Modern Music Masters, is a high school and middle school music honor society and is a program of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME). It is designed to recognize students for their academic and musical achievements and to provide leadership and service opportunities to young musicians. Each school has its own chapter, which is run by the students but supervised by an advisor or sponsor, usually a school teacher. There are approximately 6200 participating chapters in several countries.

To be eligible for membership, a student must maintain a A- average in their music classes, a B average in all of their academic courses, be presently enrolled in a music course, have minimum number of community service hours, and be recommended for membership by their school's music faculty.  Students must main these high standards as part of their reapplication process each year.

Tri-M was founded in 1936 by Alexander Harley and his wife, Frances. At the time, Alexander Harley was the band director and Music Department Chairman at Maine Township High School East in Park Ridge, Illinois. It has been a program of MENC: The National Association for Music Education since 1983. In 2011, the name MENC was changed to NAfME or the National Association for Music Education.

This year, Chapter 764 inducted 21 members (Connor Buckley, Alyssa Drinkard, Julia Gloninger, Nicholas Henderson, Katya Kariouk, Megan MacDonald, Gabby Maiorano, Mary Montgomery, Masahiro Muramatsu, Jane Reminger, Katie Rice, Melissa Roth, Mira Sadeghi, Joshua Schaaf, Corrine Smith, Deanna Stellabotte, Morgan VanZelst, Maddie Vile, Jenny Wolski, Angel Wu, Jason Wu), and presented a Honorary Lifetime Award to Dr. Stephen P. Howarth, an advocate of music education for more than 20 years in the Marple Newtown School District.

The Application Packet can be found here. The deadline for all applications is MAY 1, 2016.